468x80 Banner

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Thinking about fishing Wednesday-Friday - any suggestions?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thinking about fishing Wednesday-Friday - any suggestions?

West Bay Anglers,
    With the weather looking so good this week, I was thinking about taking a few days off and heading down to do some fishing. Any suggestions on where I should go? As you know from a previous thread, I am a newbie to West Bay, but I am willing to try anything to get my feet wet (not literaturely )
    LIVIN THE SALT LIFE

San Luis Pass is always an easy spot to fish, I have had some amazing days out there over the years. If you have a boat you can fish the columns of the bridge. If you want to fish from shore, fish right next to the bridge on the surf side. there is a deep drop off with lots of current there. Also about a mile down the beach from the bridge there is a spot where the sand bars have a gap. I used to fish there before ike, not sure if the break is still there. You can see it by the change in the way the waves break. It is pretty obvious if you are looking for it. I found it by accident a few years ago. Caught lots of whiting, pompano, jacks, macks, reds, trout, drum, and sharks there.

Comment

Thanks for the input, but most of the west end anglers are telling me to stay away from San Luis Pass until I can have someone show me around. I might drive there one day and try the surf. What did you use for bait?
      LIVIN THE SALT LIFE

Comment