New to fishing the area!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to fishing the area!

I'm brand new to Houston and need to learn where to fish down here. I've grown up fishing Port A to POC areas. What are some suggestions for some newbie spots? I'm not a newbie to fishing, just to the area. Until I get a new boat, I'm limited to kayaks and wade fishing.

Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

What side of town do you live on? Do you throw artificials or live? Weekdays or weekends?

Comment

I live on the NW part of the inner loop. I'll fish using live bait or artificials and I typically fish weekends due to work.

Comment

do not expect the water to clear up after 1 tide change like down in port a!

Comment

Here you go, read this thread some good info in here

Comment

East Beach in front of the tall condos is one of my favorite beach wading spots for specks in the Summer. Quite a few sharks out there too.

Comment

BubbaGump, is the a lot of that sargussum grass in the surf in this area? The surf is pretty flat most of the time here isn't it?

Comment

It wasn't bad at all the whole Summer up until September when I was out there last. It is usually as flat as the rest of the island. If you're only catching ladyfish out there and no specks, watch for dorsal fins.

Comment