No announcement yet.

Are the pelican castaway yaks that bad?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Are the pelican castaway yaks that bad?

I'm a beginner yaker so I was lookin at the pelican castaway yak . I've heard some good reviews and bad one for the price and bein a beginner are they really that bad ?!?!

when i say i gotta yak, that doesnt mean i have a long haired buffalo livin in my backyard !!!!!
    I dont always drink beer, but when i do , I prefer to be fishing !!!!!

Comment

I've never used one, but My kayak is terrible and there's nothing worse than a bad yak! Go find a place to try one out, like Austin Canoe & Kayak Demo days or another retailer. Figure out what you like and go from there. Some of the guys here might help you out in that department.
      "Curmudgeon only pawn in game of life."

Comment

academy sells a new kayak called Perception Sport Pescador. Its a WS Tarpon 120 which is an excellent kayak and far better than the pelican. I've fished out of a pelican and it ain't bad but it ain't good.

Comment

Get something else. If you want to sell it and upgrade, those pelicans don't hold their value as well as others. Plus they suck.

Comment

Hahaha okay thanks

Comment

I posted a similar discussion asking for kayaks under $500. That is one of my options but the guys suggested buying a better kayak used. Or I might try out the Perception Sport Pescador it seems like a decent buy.

Comment

I have a pelican yak and it gets the job done, but I would see what all you can find on craigslist or something first.

Comment

Okay thanks

Comment