Section 8 Housing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Section 8 Housing

This person says it all quite well-from Letters to the Editor in the GDN today:

Let me begin by stating I am a realtor in Galveston. Also, I am tired of all the bad press about the housing conditions on this island. Slum lords will exist no matter where you live. All the drama about the lack of quality housing is just that — drama.

I show rentals all day, and quite a few to Section 8 clients. For the majority, they have vouchers in excess of my house payment. I resent this. I work seven days a week to pay my bills. They always want a three- to four-bedroom, two-bath home in a good neighborhood. Don’t we all?

But all the students and hardworking people have to settle for the mediocre house in the not-so-good neighborhood because their sometimes second and third jobs are still not enough to get them in the homes some of these so-called poor Section 8 people enjoy.

Don’t get me wrong, I have some wonderful Section 8 clients who truly do need and deserve the best that I can find them. However, the majority of the calls I get comment, “We’ll, I’m not living in that neighborhood,” or one of my favorites, “The living room is too small for my new 50-inch TV,” or again, “I am not parking my new car in that neighborhood.”

People, until the system is reformed and reviewed on a regular basis, this will continue. Now, I know I am going to get bashed for this, but until more people speak out, this drama will continue. Get over it already.

Rony Kraft
    Galveston

I think the GHA and HUD need a Rony Kraft on their Boards-someone that has evidenced the raping of tax dollars-I believe Kraft nailed it perfectly. Maybe 6 month inspections of each Sec. 8 housing could help solve BS like this-if they can afford a new car or giant TV, they don't need gummint support-like Kraft says-some of these folks live better than folks that actually contribute to society, which is sad and sucks.