Tiki Island

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tiki Island

I am new to Galveston and was hoping for some friendly advice. I launch at Tiki Island and run out to the Causeway. Is that considered "West Bay"? Where should I try to fish if I want to fish mid shallow water, say 2' - 4' of water. I do have a shallow 20' Attackaflat boat and can go shallow. Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

If you have been launching at teakwood marina on tiki, it is now closed. If you were to go out the channel from tiki and turn right in the first channel then split left at the next channel you will be in west bay. You might want to get someone to tag along and show you the way as west bay can be unforgiving on lower units. I'd be happy to show you or ride along with you sometime.
    welcome to the board,
    boom
    "Nobody's so poor that democrats can't get rich screwing 'em."
    boom

Comment

I would love a tag along or ride along anytime. I am going to try this Wed morning if there is any chance you are available.

Comment

Sort of is West bay; West bay-I always considered all west of Tx City/Campbell's/Swan lake/Pelican Island as West Bay and anything west of there. Regardless, it is fishing that counts. Boom is right, but use your gps (with a good chip in it) and zoom in and out and note the old ICW that runs between N and S Deer Islands. Confederate and Caracahua reefs are dangerous to lower units and hulls. Follow someone (kindly and safe distance) to get an idea of where to run and not run. It takes years to learn where to go and where not to try to go. Hire the Aqua Pimp and you'll learn a lot in 1 day. get a hotspot map or hooksetter map and study it, use Google Earth and other sites; check all the info out, study where to go or what looks good to you and check your maps, gps and see what works as far as water depths and landmarks and use the knowledge you can gleam from websites such as this (or just follow Boom!!).