Beer,its not just for breakfast

Comment

Originally posted by RED RAIDER View Post
      How did most of y'all learn?

Self taught
      videos
      fly casting class
      private casting instruction
      Casting class when I was 10 or 12 and then hit the water and taught myself on a current. No real casting involved just flipping up current and letting it drift back down.

There's fly classes that Bass Pro offers. Also Steve Soule I've heard does some lessons not sure of his rates but I'm sure he can chime in goes by "shallowist" on the board.

I'm pretty much self taught... someone instructed me on how to string the rod, what knots to use what a tippet is. Pros & Cons of floating line vs. sinking basics when I was little at camp from there I've been off the races.

Never could master double hauling maybe its just the setup I'm using but that's a tough one!

Its all about breaking into a rhythm and each person has a different rhythm that works for them... Some say don't break the wrist some do... Start out with a small amount of line before you start throwing a lot... If you can't make a nice loop on both your forward & back cast then don't try and pull more line out take some in until you get your rhythm and form back. You should never fight the rod let it load up then go forward let it load up then go back... Its a real art and its a beautiful thing watching someone that's good with a fly.

Good luck and let me know if you need any help.
      We are West End Anglers, a saltwater tribe!

Comment

I have been teaching people to cast for a few years now and here is what I recommend:

1. Watch a few youtube videos and read a few articles on the "mechanics of fly casting".
        2. Take a 1 Hour Lesson with a casting instructor to help refine your basic knowledge and teach you the proper technique
        3. Practice 15 minutes every day on grass.
        4. Buy a Mel Krieger or Lefty Kreh Video to continue to build your knowledge