Is this a deal?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is this a deal?

I'm new to kayakin. Been reading a ton of info. Found a Prism Perception 15' for 600.00 thru a friend. Great shape, fully loaded- high back seat- paddle-anchor-leash(whatever that is)-rod holders-ready to fish. Is this a good handling yak for gal. west bay area, I mainly fish SLP area. Is this a good starter yak for a person 5'11 230lb. Yak is a 2008. I will test drive this weekend. Thanks for ANY advice.

I'm not going to comment but I just glanced at some of the prices that these guys paid and for a used 2 year old Kayak there will be some depreciation however you are getting ALL the accessories. The seat is the main thing I spend my money on besides the paddle of course.
    We are West End Anglers, a saltwater tribe!

Comment

We are West End Anglers, a saltwater tribe!

Comment

Hey Coe, I think that is your name, thanks for info. But New to kayakin, Is this a good yak for first timer.

Comment

Hi RM,...the Prism P 16 is one of the faster kayaks. It will probable feel a little tippy for a beginner, but it has good secondary stability.
          I personally like the shorter yaks (12ft),.....just because I can throw it in the truck bed and go.
          Give it a test paddle,....and try some others to compare.
          The price seems fair.
          What kind of paddle is in the deal?

Comment

Hey R C, Isn't a 12' less stable than 14'? I can swim, just dont like to when fishin. I'll find out names of seat/paddle . Those seem to be important for comfort. I'll let ya know.

Comment

Forgot, "Secondary stability?"

Comment

16' kayaks are fast and in order to be fast, they are narrow. the shorter you go, the wider the kayak the more stable it is. Its a trade off and one you must choose. Fast or stable.

Comment

The shorter kayaks are usually wider for more stability.
                  I have a Manta Ray12 that has great secondary stability. I use it both in the bay and surf.