The One- I mean two that got away

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The One- I mean two that got away

Well yesterday was an interesting day. Tuesday I fished the surf with a buddy and there was bait everywhere. Caught several trout and kept a few for tacos. After a few beers on the beach we decide if the weather hold like this for wed that I would run my shallow sport offshore. I am a novice at offshore and have been several times but have not capt my own offshore. I pulled my boat out of the water and trailered to the KOA to save some fuel on the boat. We loaded up with extra fuel in portables just in case. We started on the beach front with some different live and artis. Caught several fish but not what we were after. Smacks, sharks, croaker, whiting and hard heads. So decided to pick up and run for the deeper water. On the way out both of my pump crap out for the live bait. Oh well, fresh dead. We go through three color changes and start seeing bait and action around the 45 ft depth. So we start dragging lures. As i am rigging up I notice one of the lures prerigged leader is mono but looks to be around 80-100 lbs with the other steel. We are dragging and maybe 20-30 mins into the drag I grab the rod with the mono and start reeling it in because it looks like it may have picked up some grass. This monster kingfish hits the lure since it had picked up speed from me reeling. He hits with the rod in my hand. He comes out of the water and clears the boat wake. It was amazing to see a fish of that size go airborne that close to the boat. He is screaming drag and doubled over a boat rod. I holler at my buddy to put it in neutral and get the other lines in. About that time bam there goes the leader. chewed right through it. Even more depressing is how big he was and the one that got away. We estimate him to be around 5-6 ft and not sure on weight. Maybe you guys to help estimate. Although I looked at the Star leader board and 51 lbs is the leader. Thi