Anybody heading to GISP this weekend?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anybody heading to GISP this weekend?

I ventured out in the wind last weekend and I'm hoping for a better shot at some fish this weekend. I can't decide whether to go in the morning or evening. Anybody heading that way?
    I'm a real newbie: better at wading than paddling. I'd love to spend a bit of time with someone who knows what they're doing.
    "Curmudgeon only pawn in game of life."

I would expect the water level to be lower than normal Saturday after this front blows a lot of water out of the bays . The guts on the bay side of San Luis Pass , Galveston side , might have some fish....flounder are always around there . You just have to get out and start learning the terrain . Good luck !!
    GEORGE A. BRANARD, COLOR SERGEANT, CO. L, 1 ST TEXAS INFANTRY, HOOD'S TEXAS BRIGADE, C.S.A. : S.C.V.

Comment

Thanks, Plugger. I'd love to hook up with a flounder! All I've caught so far are specs & sandies. Last weekend was too windy to paddle around much, so I'm hoping to get a little more time to explore.

Comment

Print out a map of the bay side SLP from Google earth and take it with you , I do . It's hard to tell where you are from water level , but it helps . I've been taking a hand held GPS to plug in key areas like merging guts , bends , end of guts , sweet spots , etc , so I can go back to those places . You start learning the area . It just takes time being out there .
        GEORGE A. BRANARD, COLOR SERGEANT, CO. L, 1 ST TEXAS INFANTRY, HOOD'S TEXAS BRIGADE, C.S.A. : S.C.V.

Comment

Thanks, Plugger. Excellent idea. Looks like I'll have to put it off a week or so. I just got invited to fish Chocolate bay. I've never been there so I'm looking forward to it!

Comment