OLD pics of SLP 1952?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OLD pics of SLP 1952?

A good feller sent me these. They both have the same date on them, but they are different. One shows a camp at the present location of Blockade Runners. The other doesn't. So they are not both from the same date. It's amazing what has changed and what has not changed at all. What really struck me aside from San Luis Island really being an island was how different Churchill Bayou is now.

This is my first time trying to post PDF files. Hopefully it works. It's really cool to take this trip back in time. - Sandy
    Attached Files
    From 1970-1997, true heaven on Earth existed on the banks of Bayou Cook. "Hey Dad, Thanks for buying the Camp."

I think I see the reef that peeled all the paint off my skeg in the first one...

Comment

Wasn't me that did that. I know where all that stuff is.
      From 1970-1997, true heaven on Earth existed on the banks of Bayou Cook. "Hey Dad, Thanks for buying the Camp."

Comment

Originally posted by coachlaw View Post
        Wasn't me that did that. I know where all that stuff is.

That one was all on me buddy...

Comment

Neat , thanks !!
          GEORGE A. BRANARD, COLOR SERGEANT, CO. L, 1 ST TEXAS INFANTRY, HOOD'S TEXAS BRIGADE, C.S.A. : S.C.V.

Comment

I like seeing where treasure island was still almost an island ....

Also the oyster lumps are in the water, and now there on land
            FISH CONTROL MY BRAIN

Comment

Those are pretty cool Sandy. You are very right about how little has changed. i look at those shoreline pics and they are nearly the same today. It's the bars and guts that shift down there, every year!

Thanks for sharing with the class.
              http://www.theshallowist.com

Comment

Sandy, thanks for sharing. That is really neat. What I'd give to fish that area back in the day.

Comment