1st time

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1st time

I am finally ready to make my first trip to the water with my boat this Saturday. I have never done any of this before so I am looking for some help from the vast knowledge here. I will have a friend with me that has had boats but he is not familiar with this area. I live in Lake Jackson and would like info on a good place to launch and then run it so I can learn about this boat while on the water. I know where several ramps are around here but nothing about the pro or cons of launching a boat there. Any suggestions?

Welcome! I would pull the boat to San Luis pass and Launch from the old KOA camp. Fish Cold Pass on incoming tide

Comment

How about the boat ramp at 2004 and Bastrop Bayou? You have little to no traffic in your way.

Comment

Good luck with it ! X2 on the pass
        I dont always drink beer, but when i do , I prefer to be fishing !!!!!

Comment

If it is your first time I would careful and stay out of the pass area as that can be REAL tricky to learn...especially for two folks who have never boated that area. If you have GPS it will help but be careful. It may be a longer truck ride but if I simply wanted to learn my boat and the west bay system better I would drive across the pass and put in at Sea Isle. This way you go out into the open bay with no obstruction...get your feel of the boat for a while with plenty of open and safe water. Spend time hitting the various "hot spots" on a hot spot map programming them in your GPS. Things like Shell Island, Karankawa reef, Greens cut, etc as these are important places to know. Also shoud you need anything on your return back to the ramp you have the Sea Isle Marina for gas, oil, etc as well as others around who know the water.

Have fun and enjoy the new toy...
          sigpic

Comment