Ok what's the trick?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ok what's the trick?

Been out learning the West Bay three times this spring and for the life of me I can't figure out the trick to locating the channels and cuts. Especially between the known reefs. Is it an experience thing? Is it a high tide thing? Our are you guys relying on your chart plotter lines? How am I supposed to use the PVC markers. Are they center or edge of the cut?
    Blowing through the bay like you guys do, that's either experience or guts.

Teach the newbie [emoji1]

Time, trial and error. Nothing you can do in three times but scratch the surface brother. I'm 42 and I've had my own boat on west bay since I was 14. Still learning every time I go. Patience is key.
    Shut up and FISH!!

Comment

I'm still learning myself, from my experiences the pvc pipes are the edge of the reefs. I swing out away from them at least 20 yards. If your gonna get closer to fish them lift your motor and use your trolling motor. Trust your depth finder, I'll never forget the guy in a new whaler along skyline ran across a reef and said I thought my depth finder was lying to me.
      Green grass and high tides forever
      Mike Mathena

Comment

Go out there during the super low winter tides so you can see everything.
        TRUSSMAN

Comment