New rod advise

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New rod advise

I recently took Orvis 101 class and loved it. They seemed well educated in the fly arena. I ended up with gift cards to Orvis for Christmas. I need advise with rod/reel purchase. Obviously the guys at Orvis are pushing there items. I did my own research and for the money looks like a TFO BVK would be in my price range. Should I match an orvis reel with it? I have about $150 in gift cards and can get an "entry" level reel from Orvis for about that range. I know there are a ton of on line shopping places to shop, just seeing if anyone has any pos or negs about Orvis equip.

I can't copy and paste the chart where I got new rod info. I googled 2014 8 weight fly rods and saw: www.yellowstoneangler.com did a rod shoot out. The used same reel, line, etc. I liked the breakdown of how they chose which rods came out on top.

Comment

I'm a seasoned veteran at fly fishing. I assume you're going to fish an 8w. (maybe look into a spey rod in 10ft, 10w) Temple Forks has a fine fly rod set up for the price, and there are other companies with reasonable prices. I fish a 5w Patterson with an Okuma reel. I've always found with Orvis you pay for the name, quality is about the same. Make sure to match the reel (large arbor) weight to the rod weight and you can go up or down one weight (preferably up) on the fly line. Full flex would be preferable if you're fishing in the surf.

Comment

Thanks a ton. Yeah I've noticed the Orvis is top of the market in price, I just didn't know about quality. Kinda like Nike lol. Well good deal that sounds like what I will do. Didn't plan on hitting the surf but you never know. I have even landed my 1st fish on a fly yet.

Comment

I likewise recommend TFO. I like the mangrove series rods. Okuna reels are very good. I like Ross. Get a large arbor reel with a good drag. Don't scrimp on the fly line.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk