Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie - some help please

Hello,

I am new to wade fishing. I have fished the jetties and piers a few times but getting tired of it. Want to try wade and kayak fishing going forward, so that even if I do not catch anything, I will feel like I have done something and it just looks like it is more fun! I am looking to go out to the Christmas bay this weekend and try wading. Got myself a Hook-N-Line fishing map and studying it. I have found that it is difficult to find information online regarding wade fishing gear. I do not want to get stung by a Sting-ray or worse yet, drown in a hole, just due to the lack of proper gear. So I would like your help on the following please;

1.) What is a good place to buy some wade fishing gear in Houston?
    2.) What would be the first three things you would want me to buy, that is specific to wade fishing?
    3.) Could anyone suggest a good starting spot for a newbie in the west bay, for this weekend?
    4.) Would anyone be kind enough to let me tag along on their next wading trip?

Thanks for your help, glad I ran into this group.
    Red-Wader

Newbie - some help please

1. Shop around for wade gear. You probably won't find everything you'll like in one place. Check out Baad Marine, Hook Set, Grind Tackle, FTU, Hookspit, and Academy. Once you know what you're looking for, shop online as well.
    2. A good wading belt, wading box and boots/shoes. I think Hookset makes the best belt on the market, but there are plenty of others to choose from that you might like better. Grind makes great wading boxes but you can also make your own for a lot less. I have friends that buy inexpensive shoes and boots and have great luck with them but I like good quality footwear. Simms are top of the line (but out of my price range). Find something comfortable that fits well; you'll be standing in them for hours.