Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advise Appreciated

I hope all you had a good 4th.
    I currently work in the oil field and have been for 20 years now. I am looking to get out. Be done with it. I really think its time to do something I really love, and would like to start guide fishing. So any of you seasoned vets have any advise. I don't have a boat yet (maybe you know someone selling one or where I can lease one), but plan on getting and taking the required classes to be good to go. Look forward in hearing from all of you. God Bless

I think you are making a mistake IMO. Guiding has terrible hours, clientele that can be complete jerks, equipment costs and continual breakage due to use and client abuse. It may seem like a 'great job' but it is not. Insurance costs (liability plus all others). Learning where to go in what conditions takes YEARS. You do not want to run aground hard while running a 57 y.o. man with a bad heart and diabetes or a granny. Tips-many clients fail to tip properly or are so cheap they don't.

I'd think very hard before taking that step.
    "Hey Hillary, regarding the Benghazi Attack on 9/11-we'll just blame it on that movie, not my total lack of security. By the way, what's so significant about 9/11 anyway-was that a date my buddy Bill Ayers of the Weather Underground blew up a government building?" asked Obama to Hillary. BEAUTIFY AMERICA, RUN OVER A LIBERAL, THEN BACK UP AND SEE IF HE'S DEAD.

Comment

Don't blame you for wanting out of the O&G biz and If you think you have what it takes then go for it amigo! We can never have enough good guides in this area I always say! I wish you the best and keep us posted on what when and where.

Comment

Good luck, I didn't know you could lease a boat ....... go for it!
        FPIII

Salt Water Fishn Is My Heritage

Comment