Its tough to find a great charter/captain online

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Its tough to find a great charter/captain online

I keep hearing from anglers around me how tough it is to find the perfect fishing guide/trip online. For so many anglers, especially those without much experience, the process often starts on google or fishing booker, involves looking through multiple guides, talking to mutual friends, referencing different websites, calling a local bait shop, calling multiple guides, etc.

My name is George, I am a college student at Indiana University. I am working with a good friend at Purdue University to build a website for finding great fishing captains/trips. We have entered a business plan competition at Purdue.

Our overall goal, is to arm anglers with information and consolidate contact information for guides so they can find the exact trip they are looking for and not feel like they are gambling with their money. Right now, it seems like too many websites focus on helping anglers find a trip and a guide instead of the trip and the guide.

One day, if this tool is useful to anglers, I would love for it to become a business that helps both anglers and captains, but we have a long way to go until we get there. Lots of research needs to be done first so we can make sure we are taking the right steps towards solving a problem. We've been working in person with anglers in our local area and in Florida to try and understand why they don't book trips online very often, and also with captains in Florida to understand why they have a difficult time filling up their trips. However, we know its super important to hear from more anglers throughout the country, including the Texas community to learn about why many of them don't book trips online.

Here's a couple pain points we see for anglers booking/searching for trips online.