468x80 Banner

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

To Galveston lovers, book lovers, and history lovers.....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• To Galveston lovers, book lovers, and history lovers.....

I am taking a history class online with Alvin Community College and was "forced" to read a book called A Weekend in September by John Edward Weems. Now I won't tolerate reading, just like Woodrow won't tolerate rude behavior in a man. That's why I am an engineer major so I don't have to read books. But this book (published in 1957) was written about the Storm of 1900. I actually really enjoyed the book. It was neat reading about how Galveston life used to be and how terrible the storm really was. The author interviewed several surivivors of the storm and made it very factual. It is an easy read (no fancy words and it's not too long) but it can be a little confusing. He jumbles together the stories of about 10 separate families and mushes it into one book. But I really enjoyed the book and just wanted to share it with everyone. Remember, this is coming from someone who NEVER reads books. Something good to do when the wind blows west.......
    XA

GOD BLESS AND GIG'EM!

I hope I catch a 10 lb trout before I catch a flesh eating bacteria.

Good luck on getting through college without reading books. LMAO
    Try reading another one. I think you'd like "Hearts of the Sea", the true story of the Essex whaling ship sunk by a whale and the men that drifted in boats across the Pacific for months.
    "GET OFF MY REEF!"

Comment

I think I read that book in high school or shortly after. It really tells a good story about families and their experiences through the storm.

Comment

Yep, great book. I read it when forced to in history at ACC myself! small world
        Scott
        "All fishermen are liars except you and me and to tell you the truth, I'm not so sure about you!"

Comment